Geographical Features:

Tiruvannamalai Division was formed on 01.02.1966 bifurcating the erstwhile Vellore Division. It is situated under the foot of holy hill of "Thiru Annamalai". Thiruvannamalai Division is serving the entire Thiruvannamalai District comprising an area of 6467.72 Sq. Kms and a population of around 43.75 lacs.

Place of Interest:

Tiruvannamalai is known for eternal peace and divine with the proud possession of the sacred shrine of Lord Arunachaleswara and Ashrams. The "Arunachala Hill" is the form of 'Lord Shiva' and people make 'pradhakshina' around it. It is the root for the Lord Shri Arunachaleswarar Temple which is one of the 'Pancha Boodha Sthalams' where Lord Shiva is in the form of 'Agni'.

Saints like Shri. Ramana Maharishi, Shri. Seshadri Swamigal, Shri. Yogi Ram Surath Kumar, Shri. Poondi Mahan and many others lived in Thiruvannamalai. They stayed in the hill till they left their bodies. They came from far away places to realize God and themselves.

Other noteworthy places in Tiruvannamalai include Sathanur Dam, built up in 1957 with capacity of 120 feet and length 2850 feet, Lord Shiva Temple in Tiruvetipuram, Jain Temple in Karandai, Church of Lady of Lourdes in Chetpet Polur, Temple for Lord Subramanya Swamy in Kunnathur, Pancha Pandava Rock cut caves sculpture in Mamandur and Narasamangalam, Lord Vishnu Temples in Thenganur and Nelvoi, Shri. Renugambal Temple in Padavedu.

Post Offices & Other Features :

Tiruvannmalai Division consists of two Head Post Offices and 72 Sub Post Offices under Tiruvannamalai District. There are 393 Branch Post Offices and 10 PSSKs. Siruvallur BO account with Vilvarani SO is more than a century old. For any details, please contact the Postmasters/Sub Postmasters of the concerned Post Offices. For any complaints / suggestions please contact any of the under mentioned officer/centre.

Sub Divisions:

Sub Division Name Email Id Contact Number
Arni  Sub Division sdoarni.tn@indiapost.gov.in 04173226909
Chengam  Sub Division sdochengam.tn@indiapost.gov.in 04188222365
Polur  Sub Division sdopolur.tn@indiapost.gov.in 04181224030
Tiruvannamalai  Sub Division sdotiruvannamalai.tn@indiapost.gov.in 04175220677
Vandavasi  Sub Division sdovandavasi.tn@indiapost.gov.in 04183225031

Head of the Division
The Superintendent of Post Offices
Tiruvannamalai Division
Tiruvannamalai- 606 601
Phone: 04175-253067
Fax: 04175-252465 e-mail: dotiruvannamalai.tn@indiapost.gov.in
Customer Care Centre
Phone: 04175-252465,253067

No of Visits: