Geographical Features:

Kanchipuram Postal Division was formed on 1.11.1972 bifurcating the then unwieldy Chengalpattu Postal Division. Jurisdiction of Kanchipuram Division comprises of part of Kanchipuram District and part of Tiruvallur District. It consists of entire Revenue Taluks of Kanchipuram, Uttiramerur and parts of Sriperumbudur, Saidapet and Madurantakam of Kanchipuram District and Revenue Taluks of Tiruvallur, Tiruttani, Pallipattu, Uttukottai and part of Ponneri Taluk in Tiruvallur District. Kanchipuram Division envelopes the western sector of Kanchipuram District. It extends from Uttiramerur of Kanchipuram District in the South, Uttukottai , Tiruninravur and Pallipat of Tiruvallur District in the North, East and West respectively. Kanchipuram Postal Division serves an area of around 3080 Sq. Km and a population of about 18,00,000 people.

Place of Interest:

Kanchipuram is famous for Silk weaving and Kanhipuram Silk products are well known through out the country and even abroad

Kanchipuram, the foremost among the seven sacred cities of India can be called 'City of Temples'. It is estimated that there are not less than 1008 Siva Shrines and 108 Vishnu Shrines in and around Kanchipuram. Through out History, Kanchipuram had remained as a great centre of learning and culture. Various religious sects such as Saivism, Vaishnavism, Jainism and Bhuddism coexisted in Kanchipuram. Kanchipuram was sanctified by the Vaishnavite Alwars and Saivite Nayanmars. Kanchipuram has also a mention in the travelogue of the famous traveller, Hiuen Tsang of China.

Sri Kamkashi Amman Temple where Sri Adi Sankaracharya established the Kamakoti Peetam, Sri Ekambareswarar Temple with its age-old mango tree which dates back 4000 years, Sri Kailasanathar Temple, the first ever stone temple built in South India built by Rajasimhan during 7th Century AD, Sri Varadaraja Perumal Temple situated in Little Kanchipuram are some of the places worth seeing in Kanchipuram Division.

In the Varadaraja Perumal Temple in Little Kanchipurm, the temple tank is known as "ANANTHA SARAS'. Lord Athigirivaradar is stated to be original presiding deity of this temple and consigned to the temple tank and exposed for the public view from 2.7.79 to 18.8.79 which attracted a large number of devotees from all over the country. In this connection, a commemorative pictorial cancellation was also provided at Kanchipuram HO by Postal Department on 18.8.1979.

Post Offices & Other Features:

Kanchipuram Division consists of two Head Post Offices and 53 Sub Post Offices under Kanchipuram and Tiruvallur Districts. For any details, please contact the Postmasters/Sub Postmasters of the concerned Post Offices. For any complaints / suggestions please contact the under mentioned officer/customer care centre.

Sub Divisions:

Sub Division Name Email Id Contact Number
Kanchipuram  Sub Division sdokanchipuram.tn@indiapost.gov.in 04427224365
Sriperumbudur  Sub Division sdosriperumbudur.tn@indiapost.gov.in 04427163043
Tiruttani East  Sub Division sdotiruttanieast.tn@indiapost.gov.in NA
Tiruttani West  Sub Division sdotiruttaniwest.tn@indiapost.gov.in NA
Tiruvallur  Sub Division sdotiruvallur.tn@indiapost.gov.in 04427660632

Head of the Division
The Superintendent of Post Offices
Kanchipuram Division
Kanchipuram - 631 501
Fax:044-27223723 e-mail : dokanchipuram.tn@indiapost.gov.in
Customer Care Centre

No of Visits: