Geographical Features:

Chengalpattu Postal Division was formed on 02.06.1975 bifurcating the erstwhile composite Chengalpattu North and Chengalpattu South Division. Later, Chengalpattu South Division was renamed as Chengalpattu Division with effect from 1.6.84. It comprises of Chengalpattu, Tirukalikundram, Cheyur and Madurantakam Taluks and parts of Uthiramerur Taluk. The area is about 2506.07 Sq.Km which serves a population of around 8 lakhs.

Place of Interest:

Chengalpattu Division consists of a number of tourist places which include Mamallapuram, Madurantakam Lake and "Erikatha Ramar" Temple, Tirukalaukundram Temple, and Vedanthangal birds' sanctuary. Kalpakkam which lies south of Mamallapuram has the famous Chennai Atomic Power Project, the third Nuclear Power project station in India. Besides Indira Gandhi Centre for Atomic Research, BHAVINI and PRP projects are also there.

Post Offices & Other Features:

Chengalpattu Division consists of one Head Post Office and 46 Sub Post Offices under Kanchipuram District. An RMS office is also functioning at Chengalpattu near Chengalpattu Junction. It functions at night and also accepts Speed Post articles from 1830 to 2100 hours. For any details, please contact the Postmasters/Sub Postmasters of the concerned Post Offices. For any complaints / suggestions please contact any of the under mentioned officers/centre.

Sub Divisions:

Sub Division Name Email Id Contact Number
Chengalpattu East  Sub Division 04427431413
Chengalpattu West  Sub Division 04427431483
Madurantakam  Sub Division 04427553088

Head of the Division
The Superintendent of Post Offices
Chengalpattu Division
Chengalpattu - 603 001
Fax: 044-27433947 e-mail :
Customer Care Centre
Phone: 044-25260600

No of Visits: