Chennai City Central Division

Geographical Features:

Chennai City Central Division was culled out from erstwhile City South Division w.e.f 01.02.1973. This division consists of very important localities of the city like T. Nagar, Mylapore, Tiurvallikeni, Royapettah, Teynampet, Thousand Lights etc. The area of the Division is roughly 25.25 sq. Kms and it serves a population of around 10 Lacs. An average population of 24,513 and an average area of 0.5872 Sq. Kms has been served per PO.

Place of Interest:

Bharathia Vidya Bhavan, Ramakrishna Mutt, Vivekananda Memorial House, Sri Parathasarathy Temple, Sri Kapaleeswarar Temple and Marina Beach are some of the interesting places. Santhome Basilica, which has been constructed over the place where the mortal remains of Saint Thomas, one of the direct disciples of Jesus Christ was laid to rest. It is world famous because of the above fact. The church itself is a great architecture.

Post Offices & Other Features:

Chennai City Central Division consists of POs which are more than 50 years old. T. Nagar HO remains open on Sundays and holidays except National Holidays. It also functions as a Night Post Office with a number of services such as stamp vending, Booking of Speed MO, TMO, MO, Speed and Registered articles and sale of IPOs. This division consists of two Head Post Offices and 25 Sub Post Offices under Chennai District. For any details, please contact the Postmasters/Sub Postmasters of the concerned Post Offices. For any complaints / suggestions please contact any of the under mentioned officers/centre.

Head of the Division
The Senior Superintendent of Post Offices
Chennai City Central Division
Chennai - 600 017
Fax: 044-24326589 e-mail:
Customer Care Centre
Phone: 044-24346980

No of Visits: